In 1904, the Goldsboro-Raleigh and the Washington and Norfolk District Assemblies met at Vine Swamp, Kinston, N.C. presented to the quadrennial session a proposal to purchase a school site. During this assembly we decided to purchase two acres of land from the Brown Brothers in Greenville N.C. for the sum of seven hundred dollars, which was paid in full. Goldsboro-Raleigh and Washington Norfolk met as one body at the time of this transaction. We held the land several years without any improvements what so ever.

Elder BJ Gregory served on the purchasing committee from the west side of the Tar River and Elders WA James and IV Keys were the committee from the east side of the Tar River. In the Annual Assembly at Broad Creek, Pantego, N.C. in October 1910, we decided to sell the land in Greenville to the Missionary Baptists and to purchase a more desirable site in Goldsboro, N.C., the site upon which the Institute now stands. It was erected the same year, 1910, under the direction of Professor Edgar Stonewall Lapadoth Whitfield, A.B., the first principal, and Professor BF Simmons, the first assistant principal. Elder Whitfield worked in the log woods getting wood to build the school. He contracted pneumonia while logging and later died. He did not get to see the completion of the building.           Download the Complete Historical Sketch

About Us

The Board of Elders
Dr. Nannie Stevens,  Chairman
Elder Shelton Keyes, Vice Chairman

The Board of Ministry
Elder Donnie McLean, Chairman

Dr. Laura Williams, Vice Chairman

The Youth Department (DCYF)
Sister Felicia Wellington, President
Elder Shawn Hicks, Vice President

The Music Department
Sister Tedra  O. F,air, Minister of Music

The Missionary Department
Elder Shirley Howard, President
Mother Linda Hocutt, Vice President

The Minister's Wives & Widows Association
Lady Judy Johnson, President

The Sunday School Convention
Elder Beverly Summers, President

The Department of Governmental Affairs
Dr. Paul Norman

The Deacon's, Mother's & Trustee's Convention

Mother Gloria Miller, Mothers Convention CP

Deacon Sherman Edwards, Deacons/Trustees Convention Chairperson

Usher's Convention
Sister Bettie Wells, President

Weep for the City Prayer Ministry
Elder Tachala Dawson Hood, Lead
Elder Darlene Williams Parker, Co-Lead
Elder Jame Newsome, Co-Lead